My New Year’s Resolution

Ahh, the New Year–time for family and food and drinks…and resolutions…gar.

Usually I fill my resolution card with tasks that would be miracles to accomplish, then I promptly forget them, since they are written down somewhere and that somewhere is then lost.  So, I wanted to write them down here, where I can digitally check them off, and bow to the pressure of social shame.  I’ve broken them down into categories, which should help my tracking.  Here we go:

Climbing:

Manage two days (min.) of climbing a week

Redpoint Scott Free (12b) at Madrone

Start a mid-12 project, and send within the year

Onsight a low 12 or high 11…

Climb the Passenger up at Washington Pass

Climb the Becky-Chounaird in the Bugaboos

Climb the North Ridge of Stuart with Hana

Support Hana’s climbing goals (Wherever I May Roam, probably some mountains, more leading)

Climb at 5 new crags–(City of Rocks, I’m looking at you!)

Go on a road trip

Maintain an injury-free year (since my finger was injured last year, it doesn’t count.)

Fitness:

Run 5-10 miles per week (ugh.)

Start very light weightlifting again (see injury-free year)

Start physical therapy for my back

Maybe a half-marathon again…dunno

Wilderness:

Skin Hood 3 times, with less huffing and puffing.

Ski a new mountain (both resort and entirely new)

Backpack the Goat Rocks again

Backpack with the Little Burkes

Visit Crater Lake

Visit the Wallowas

Climb another Oregon volcano (Mt. Jefferson?)

Writing:

Publish more pieces than last year (so over 5, but overall, helluva year!)

Send out a pitch per week

Published in a print journal

Sell a short story

Write the blog at least once per week

Work:

Pull in 4 successful “cold call” contracts

Present at local PDX universities

Publish an article in a trade journal/website

Write a serious of economic blog posts

Nab another evaluation

Life:

Travel to one new country

Visit Reno at least 2x

Get 3 new grants for SICO

Visit the Oregon Coast / swim in the ocean

See family members get married (Shane and Gabe)

Buy a house

Brew some beer

 

That’s all I have…obviously, some will fall by the wayside, and new objectives will take their place–such is life…but at least I can keep track.  What are your goals for 2018?

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑